D-Day – 15th of August, 2012

Today is D-Day. Today, 55,000 students across Ireland went to various schools, and were handed their Leaving Certificate results.

There were tears of joy, tears of absolute euphoria, and tears of sadness. There were laughs of contempt, horror and delight. After weeks of waiting, students finally know how they did, and most likely know whether or not they got a place in the course they wanted.

How do you feel about your results? Happiness? Sadness? Maybe a slight tinge of anger that the A2 you got wasn’t an A1?

Just remember, that even if you didn’t get whatever results you hoped for, you tried your best. These results aren’t a reflection on you as a person. In fact, they’re not nearly as important as we believe right now.

I was quite pleased with my results, getting 420 points overall. I got my A1 in English, but was met with some disappointment when I got an A2 in History. But you know what? I’m happy. I got enough points to do English and History in UCD, and my dreams have more or less been achieved.

So for now I leave you with this: Have fun. Let loose. Go mad. Just enjoy yourself, and learn to be happy with whatever you have achieved today.

Good day, students!

Leave a comment