English Paper 2 – Oh Jesus…

Students across the country battled against the rain this afternoon to pop into their local exam centres.

Little did they know that their lives were about to come tumbling down in the shape of Heaney and Plath’s absence.

OK, so Paper 2 wasn’t great. At least that’s my opinion. Let’s start with the single text, and I’m going to labour under the assumption that most of you did Hamlet.

The Hamlet questions were actually quite good in my opinion. Hamlet’s madness and Corruption were quite good. I mean, Hamlet’s madness is basically the biggest thing in the play after the theme of revenge. And corruption is a fairly easy number, I think. What did everyone answer on? What did you do? I answered on Hamlet’s madness. It was a nice topic I thought.

The Comparitive Studies… For some reason I seem to be one of the only ones thinking that this was a horrible topic. I never expected Theme or Issue to come up, as it came up last year, so I wasn’t surprised to see General Vision and Viewpoint and Literary Genre. The questions on General Vision and Viewpoint left a lot to be desired. I’ve never seen one of those questions about characters come up before, and I thought it was genuinely tough. But oh well, such is life…

And the poetry… Ah yes, the poetry. The Beautiful Lie bu Sheenagh Pugh was the unseen poem – quite a nice and easy poem, but I found no personal connection with it, which made it tough to write about. And the prescribed poetry…

Sweet Jesus…

Who came up with this? Surely this is a form of torture? Thomas Kinsella, Adrienne Rich, Philip Larkin and Patrick Kavanagh were the poets examined. This was obviously really quite a shock to everyone, considering Sylvia Plath and Seamus Heaney were the ones who everyone seemed to be talking about. My decision was made more difficult as our class didn’t cover Larkin or Kinsella, which meant that I was reduced to Rich and Kavanagh.

I personally chose Kavanagh, but was disgusted to see that the question on him was quite difficult too. They couldn’t just ask us to write a personal response, oh no! Of course not. The question wanted us to talk about whether or not his poetic themes were dated and irrelevant, but his language was the redeeming factor. I would love to know who comes up with these things…

Anyway, happy studying everyone for Maths and Geography tomorrow. You’ll be grand. 🙂

3 comments on “English Paper 2 – Oh Jesus…

  1. Emma says:

    Oh sweet Jesus. When I read “I never expected theme or issue” I nearly had a heart attack…:L I was like “wait no, what? It was gv&vp right? Right?!” :L clearly

  2. Aisling says:

    Patrick I love this, you have such a way with words.

Leave a Reply

